How Mo can you grow?

So it’s been three weeks since my last mo-update, and I have plenty to tell.  To recap, I am growing a moustache (mo) to support the Movember charity for men’s health.  I thought I would use my blog as a diary of my mo-gress and to drum up some support – I would really appreciate it if you could donate to me if you have not done so already, as I think is a very worthy and good cause to support.

So please click here if you want to donate to me – and a big thank you to those who have donated already :)

I have taken a pic once a week, so I’ll introduce each week with a pic and then describe some of my mo-experiences for you:

Week 1:

P1100218a

Yeah, so this pic was taken after the first proper shave since October.  The beard stubble itched like mad, so I just went and shaved all but the mo area.  As you can see, it wasn’t too much to show off and was bloody prickly.  It was funny seeing so many of my colleagues in the office like this though – and even the ladies got in on the act by wearing fake mo’s!

Week 2:

mogshot

Well it started looking more respectable in week 2 – still not totally visible but enough that I started subconsciously grooming it.  Mrs Goat really didn’t like it though as it was too prickly to kiss, apparently!

Week 3:

P1100268a

Well now it’s starting to look like something!  It’s still a little weak, but it’s nicely softened out now.  One person even commented I have a little bit of a Graham Hill look about me – nice!

Having said that, I really really dislike having the mo – I don’t think it’s a good look on me, it itches like mad and when I meet new people, they think this is what I normally look like.  But it’s all good fun and I really think it’s for a great cause.

REMEMBER::::: Men health doesn’t get better all on its MOwn. Check your bad self once in a while. http://uk.movember.com/mens-health/

Studies show that many men don’t get regular health checks for the following reasons:

  • Fear it will lead to a hospital visit
  • Embarrassed to discuss their health issues
  • Find it too hard to see a doctor because they just can’t fit it into their schedule
  • Just can’t be bothered making an appointment

Statistics show that, on average, men die at a younger age than women – the average life expectancy for men is five years less than women (presently 78 compared to 82). That said, despite trailing the women’s health movement, things are beginning to change, but much more progress needs to be made to close the gap between the state of men and women’s health. Established taboos and barriers relating to men’s health are gradually being broken down.

Movember aims to change the face of men’s health and reverse this way of thinking by putting a fun twist on this serious issue. Using the moustache as a catalyst, we want to bring about change and give men the opportunity and confidence to talk about their health more openly.

Movember’s primary campaign objective is to raise awareness of men’s health issues, specifically cancers affecting men. We want everyone to know that most cancers are highly curable if caught in the early stages – including prostate and testicular cancer.

Movember aims to increase early detection, diagnosis and effective treatment, as this will ultimately reduce the number of deaths from cancer. It’s time men face the startling health facts.

So please donate and get yourself checked out by your doctor, as prostate and testicular cancers are not nice diseases to suffer through – and they can be very easily treated if caught early enough.

Anyway, to end on the right note, the plan is to keep the mo as it is and take some more pics near December 1st.  I’ll update you on my progress next week and also have a final reminder to donate ;)

Are any of you growing a mo?  How is it going and how much money have you raised so far?

About rubbergoat

Hi there! I’m a mad keen F1 fan who has been addicted to the sport for 20 years. I watch every race and follow the sport in every way I can. I have a keen interest in numbers and I would like to analyse the races from a statistical point of view to see if the data shows something we can't see on TV. As always, I’d love to hear what you think and especially if we can discuss my analyses that would be great – but please no nasty stuff!
This entry was posted in Movember, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

