Bank Holidays in Denmark

YAY!  Today was a bank holiday today, because as my Danish friend put it, it’s “Christ go to Heaven Day”!  An odd thing about Denmark is that this country is not very religious but they have a lot of religious holidays.

So, normally I would sleep in, maybe do a bit of shopping, go and enjoy the nice weather, maybe go out for dinner or see a movie.

But not in Denmark.  You see, in Denmark, when they have a bank holiday, everybody has a holiday! Therefore it feels like the whole country has closed down for the day.  It’s a lovely day and yet everybody has disappeared somewhere… and I had nothing to do 😦

So we decided to have a drive around and oddly enough, only the zoo was open.  We had a look around but we’ve been there a few times before, so the only things that seemed interesting were the kids practicing animal cruelty in the zoo and a subsequent birth (of a goat) there.  We were going to go to Germany today but we were told they had a holiday too, so I spent the day being rather lazy.  Oh well, I did take some time off tomorrow (which isn’t a Bank Holiday) so we will go to Germany then instead.

Be warned – “Deutschland, Deutschland, look out for us, we’re coming down to buy your beer!”

About rubbergoat

Hi there! I’m a mad keen F1 fan who has been addicted to the sport for 20 years. I watch every race and follow the sport in every way I can. I have a keen interest in numbers and I would like to analyse the races from a statistical point of view to see if the data shows something we can't see on TV. As always, I’d love to hear what you think and especially if we can discuss my analyses that would be great – but please no nasty stuff!
This entry was posted in Humour, musings and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

