From 0 to 5km in 3 weeks? That’s Crazy!

My crazy friend from Trinidad managed to rope me into the DHL 5km relay in Copenhagen in early September.  Now, I am not a runner.  I’m a bit overweight and the only exercise I do is approx. 4km cycling per day to and from my house to the railway station and approx 3km walking to and from the other railway station to the office.  So I accepted the challenge just to see if I could push myself and to see if I could actually do it.

I started running last Monday, and boy was I in for a shock!  The plan was to run for approximately a mile around the block from my house just to see what it felt like.  Turns out that I was getting tremendous back and calf pains to the point where I had to keep stopping and walking because it got too much.  I put it down to the fact that I hadn’t run for over 10 years, so I must be not used to it…

My second run was on Wednesday, and after talking with a colleague who advised me to run and walk around the circuit and build myself up to the level required, I did the same circuit.  My lower back was still killing me and my calves were on fire.  Now, I’m wearing cheapskate shoes when I run, so I decided to try and run up and down the street afterwards in some other comfy walking sneakers I have.

What a difference they made!  Even though my back was still hurting, I could feel a difference straight away.  I told my mate from Trinidad who said that for him, good running shoes were very important and he also suggested that I do some extra stretching before I start running to help with the pains.

So this weekend I went to my local sports shop, tried some decent shoes (and bought them), and did loads of stretches before my run today.

And guess what?  I am happy to tell you that I had no back pain and my calves only hurt towards the very end of the run.  I ran the circuit in just over 8 minutes and I felt so good for it!  I’m really happy that I can do it and I have had a real energy buzz all day – I am really starting to enjoy it, which really surprises me as I used to hate running!

So what’s the plan for this week?  Well, I will definitely have to increase the distance in order to be able to run 5km in September, but I don’t know how much further just yet 😉  Also, I plan to try a few new routes and see how they feel.  I am going to keep a diary and tell you how I get along…

One thing is for sure, this will be an interesting experience and a challenge which really excites me 😀

About rubbergoat

Hi there! I’m a mad keen F1 fan who has been addicted to the sport for 20 years. I watch every race and follow the sport in every way I can. I have a keen interest in numbers and I would like to analyse the races from a statistical point of view to see if the data shows something we can't see on TV. As always, I’d love to hear what you think and especially if we can discuss my analyses that would be great – but please no nasty stuff!
This entry was posted in musings, Running, Serious, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

