Running Diary – Week 3, Run #1

So today was crunch time – how would I feel after an extra day’s rest?  Would I be able to run OK?  This run was very important, because had I been unable to do it, I would have been forced to pull out of the race…

So with some trepidation, nervousness and a lot of stretching, I set off on the same route as last week (as it’s so nice to run!).  I did have a bit of pain at the start, but a quick stretch at the traffic lights worked wonders and I felt like I was really getting into the rhythm at the end – I hardly had to stop and I felt great!

Two things though:

  1. I have to run very slowly, which is very demoralising because everyone else running is much faster than me.  Still, I’ve just started out so it can’t be that bad – at least I can run a fair distance!
  2. I am still experiencing calf pain, lower back pain and numb feet.  However, it’s a lot better than it was last time, so I must be overdoing it.

The plan from here has also changed slightly – my colleague who just ran a marathon recommended that I do one more training run at the weekend – a 5km run.  This he says, will ensure my body has enough time to recover for the race.  Sounds like a smart plan, so I will next run after the Belgian Grand Prix on Sunday.

We will then see if all the hard work has started to pay off.  Fingers crossed eh? 😉

About rubbergoat

Hi there! I’m a mad keen F1 fan who has been addicted to the sport for 20 years. I watch every race and follow the sport in every way I can. I have a keen interest in numbers and I would like to analyse the races from a statistical point of view to see if the data shows something we can't see on TV. As always, I’d love to hear what you think and especially if we can discuss my analyses that would be great – but please no nasty stuff!
This entry was posted in musings, random, Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

