Running Diary – Week 3, Run #2

As per Andy’s training plan, Sunday’s run was to be the last training run before the big race on Thursday.  He suggested that I run a 5km run and then wait until raceday to run again.  So I carefully planned out a new route around my house, using my favourite roads and extending them a little.  I was nervous and excited all week waiting for run day!

After I had watched the Belgian Grand Prix and posted my usual Fantasy Racers post on my F1 blog, it was crunch time.  After a bit of messing about with my gear because it was raining, I finally set off.  Surprisingly, I felt really good and kept a good rhythm going.  Because it was a new route and because I don’t really know the roads around where I live, I was following blindly the street names in the hope that I was going the right way.  But as I rounded a corner I was at the gas station, which was unexpected…  I kept on running and didn’t care much for it as I knew where I was and followed the rest of the planned course.

The pain in my back has gone (apparently caused by my office chair, which has been adjusted 😉 ) and the calf pain is much less now – I still get pins and needles in my feet but this is all manageable.  Anyway, I had to stop at the lights to wait for my time to cross, so I used this time to stretch, which did wonders.

So I ran and ran for what seemed like a while – when I got home I discovered I had been running for an hour!  This surprised me, because I was going at a decent speed but had not set the time I had expected for 5km (I was hoping for 45 minutes)…  But I felt good and relatively pain-free.

So I got inside and told my wife where I had run, and she didn’t say much, but I was puzzled by my unfamiliarity with the route and apparent slow time so I checked Google Maps again.

Then it became obvious – because of a wonky street sign I had turned the wrong way at an intersection of a road I planned to run down!  The effect of this was that I doubled back on myself, coming out at the petrol station and effectively adding another block to the run!  When I tallied up the distance, I had run SEVEN KILOMETRES!

I was in shock – it all became clear and made perfect sense now – I did run about 45 minutes for the 5km, just by accident I had run another 2km!  I was speechless, but very happy with myself because 3 weeks ago I could not even run around the block!

So now I am SO READY for the DHL run on Thursday – I really feel like I can do it!  This week, Andy has handed out the team shirts (and because XL is available in Dark blue and the other sizes in light blue, I get the special shirt 😉 ) and the starting numbers – I am last in my team which means I get to finish the race!  That sounds really cool, I just hope there’s some beers and steaks left over by the time I finish 😉

Wish me luck on Thursday, if you are near Fælledparken in Copenhagen around 7:30-8pm come and support me – it’s going to be a lot of fun 😀

About rubbergoat

Hi there! I’m a mad keen F1 fan who has been addicted to the sport for 20 years. I watch every race and follow the sport in every way I can. I have a keen interest in numbers and I would like to analyse the races from a statistical point of view to see if the data shows something we can't see on TV. As always, I’d love to hear what you think and especially if we can discuss my analyses that would be great – but please no nasty stuff!
This entry was posted in Humour, musings, random and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

